Chapter Eleven – Harry Potter Spells Book Tag

Hello!

I was tagged by the very lovely Emily, over at ashortbooklover, to do the Harry Potter Spells book tag, created by Sarika from Between The Pages. Go and check out their wonderful blogs!

I’m a very proud Ravenclaw and Harry Potter fan so I can’t wait to share my answers with you all…

IMG_1345.JPG

 

ACCIO: An upcoming release you wish you could get your hands on?

There’s soooo many, but especially Kingdom of Ash by Sarah J Maas, King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo, Queen of Air and Darkness by Cassandra Clare and The Toll by Neal Shusterman.

ALOHOMORA: Favourite series starter?

One of my favourite series is The Infernal Devices, and I found that Clockwork Angel managed a brilliant balance of developing the characters as well as setting the atmosphere for the next two books. It was the perfect beginning to a phenomenal series.

CHEERING CHARM: A book that gave you all the warm fuzzles?

I’ve literally just finished To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and everything about it, from the setting and characters, to Jenny Han’s wonderfully simplistic writing style, makes me feel warm and happy. It’s the kind of book I want to read when I’m curled up in bed!

AGUAMENTI: A book that made you ugly cry?

I haven’t read all that much contemporary, which is probably the most notorious genre for making people cry, so it’s usually fantasy series that have me sobbing. Most recently, Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare.

EXPECTO PATRONUM: A book character you want around to protect you?

I have to say Aelin from Throne of Glass, because not only is she a total badass, she’s also one of my all-time favourite fictional characters. She’d be a laugh when she wasn’t busy protecting me.

LUMOS: A book you intentionally spoiled for yourself?

Hmm, I don’t think I’ve ever intentionally spoiled a book for myself, although I seem to do this a lot with TV shows. I do have a tendency to flick to the last few pages of a book, which ends up spoiling things, but it’s more like a bad habit than an intentional thing. I always kick myself after!

IMPERIO: A book you wish you could make everyone read?

I could put many books under this one, but definitely Turtles All The Way Down by John Green, because I think that’s hugely important. Also, the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo, because they’re AMAZING!

ENGORGIO: A book/series you wish had never ended?

Absolutely Harry Potter. I could read an endless number of stories from Hogwarts and I’d never get bored.

WINGARDIUM LEVIOSA: A book with an uplifting message/end?

It has to be Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. I don’t read much contemporary, so this was incredibly refreshing and uplifting.

OBLIVIATE: A book you wish you could forget you ever read?

Definitely The Fandom and Floored. I was hugely excited about both of them but they felt like a drag and ultimately disappointed me.

ANAPNEO: An author whose books get you out of a slump?

Two authors that I can always rely on to get me out of a slump are Tahereh Mafi and Maggie Stiefvater.

JELLY-LEG JINX: A swoon worthy character?

Cassandra Clare has definitely created most of my fictional crushes. Will Herondale from The Infernal Devices and Mark Blackthorn from The Dark Artifices are my favourites!

ARESTO MOMENTUM: A book that caused you to stop doing all things until you finished it?

This is usually me whilst I’m reading any book by Sarah J Maas. But more recently, Restore Me by Tahereh Mafi, Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz and Legendary by Stephanie Garber. All three of these were absolutely addictive and I couldn’t put them down.

CRUCIO: A book that was painful to read?

I read The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart for my book club, but otherwise it would have been a DNF.

RICTUSEMPRA: A book that had you laughing out loud?

It’s probably really sad that none come to mind? I usually laugh the most when I’m reading a series that I’ve loved for years, like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson.

EXPELLIARMUS: A book you wanted to send flying?

Most recently, It Only Happens In The Movies by Holly Bourne. I wrote a full review here, but to sum it up, this book didn’t seem to be anything like what it was promoted to be. It was full of cliches and irritating characters.

PORTUS: A bookish world you wish you could visit?

I could say so many fictional worlds for this one, but I’ve always dreamt of going to Hogwarts, so that takes the number one spot. I’d also love to visit The Night Court from the ACOTAR series, the world of Caraval and Middle Earth from the Lord of the Rings series.

AVADA KEDAVRA: A character death which destroyed you?

SPOILER ALERT!!! 

Finnick from The Hunger Games. I thought his death was totally unnecessary, and the space he left behind was palpable. There are so many more but I won’t fill this post with spoilers!

STUPEFY: A book with a shocking twist/ending?

Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman probably had the most shocking and explosive ending out of anything else I’ve read this year and I couldn’t stop thinking about it for days afterwards.

FINITE INCANTATEM: Best series conclusion?

I’m always devastated when a series ends, but some of my favourites include Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo, The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan and The Raven King by Maggie Steifvater.

And that’s it! This was my first ever tag, so if you’d like to join in, feel free!

Issy

x


2 thoughts on “Chapter Eleven – Harry Potter Spells Book Tag

Leave a comment